Mission StatementThe Des Moines Wine Festival Foundation exists to promote, educate and celebrate the wine industry through wine and culinary partnerships on a local and global scale. Our Wine Festival Foundation enriches the cultural and economic fiber of Greater Des Moines through event-driven advocacy, education and awareness toward arts and culture, and direct funding to support these endeavors.

Winefest is proud to have been a part of the Greater Des Moines area since 2003 and we look forward to our 15th year of celebrating fine food and wine while bettering the community. We hope you’ll join us.

The Des Moines Wine Festival Foundation is a publicly supported 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and its signature event, Winefest, has grown into one of Des Moines’ most anticipated weekends of the year. Besides supporting the wine and culinary industry, Winefest has raised more than $400,000 for local charities and cultural organizations. We’ve even attracted top names in the culinary world, including people like Tim Love, Eric Ripert, Lidia Bastianich, Art Smith, Fritz Maytag, Lynne Rossetto Kasper and Doug Frost, who is one of only three people in the world to hold both titles of Master Sommelier and Master of Wine.

Unique events such as Winefest help to improve our community’s cultural landscape and help to earn Des Moines its national accolades for quality of life. In addition to events throughout the year, Winefest supports our community with an annual donation to Bravo Greater Des Moines, three $2,000 scholarships to 2nd year students at the Iowa Culinary Insitiute at DMACC and three $1,500 scholarships toward test and travel fees for certification with the Court of Master Sommeliers.


Winefest will again be offering a scholarship fund for applicants to apply toward test and travel fees with the Court of Master Sommeliers. The $1,500 Sommelier Scholarships will be awarded to individuals in the hospitality industry and we would welcome you to apply for this unique opportunity! Click here for the application.
Applications are due to Winefest by September 15, 2017. 

2016 Donation to Bravo Greater Des Moines – $25,000
Pictured from the left: Natasha Sayles, Executive Director Winefest Des Moines; Sally Dix, Executive Director Bravo Greater Des Moines; Susan Hatten, Winefest Board President

2016 Recipients of the Winefest ICI Scholarship
Pictured from the left: Rebekah Day, Brittney Campbell, and Shannon O’Connell


Come raise a glass to that…cheers!

Executive Board

Susan Hatten, President
Jay Syverson, Vice President
Lana Jones Gould, Secretary
Phil Randall, Treasurer
Dominic Iannarelli, Past President

Board of Directors

Lindsay Black
Lauren Burt
Aldrich Cabildo
Brian Cameron
Joyce Chapman
Mary Coffin
Christopher Diebel
Josh Dreyer
Liz Gilman
Susan Hatten
Nancy Hopkins
Dominic Iannarelli
Lana Jones-Gould
Nancy Landess
Lana Leander
Justin Lossner
Todd Millang
Ben Muehr
Chris Nelson
Katie Patterson
Phil Randall
Jim Stick
Jay Syverson
Myrna Ver Ploeg
Mark Vroman
Connie Wimer

Grand Cru

Christina Moffatt, Co-Chair
Drew Porter, Co-Chair

Sophia Ahmad
Melissa Alto-Kintigh
Mike Barratt
Kinsey Bodensteiner
Amelia Boggess
Ryan Boyington
Jonathan Brendemuehl
Meggan Cronin
Jen Cross
Lauren Ehrler
Maggie Glisan
Katie Graham
Nate Haggard
Shelly Kopriva
Kylee Krizmanic
Michael Kuehner
Dylan Lampe
Brad Magg
Ben Nelsen
Jill Patterson
Liz Proctor
Joe Sheridan
Kelly Sparks
Hanna Wolle

In the News